As currently designed, user-config.php is a file that users are free to modify. However, with it in the source repository under that name, upgrades will copy the repository version over a possibly-modified version.
To fix this, rename user-config.php to user-config.dist.php, and update the installation instructions to include renaming this file. Future upgrades will continue to overwrite the dist version (allowing users to diff the two after upgrading, to see if there are any new configuration items), but will leave the user's configuration alone.
As currently designed, `user-config.php` is a file that users are free to modify. However, with it in the source repository under that name, upgrades will copy the repository version over a possibly-modified version.
To fix this, rename `user-config.php` to `user-config.dist.php`, and update the installation instructions to include renaming this file. Future upgrades will continue to overwrite the `dist` version (allowing users to diff the two after upgrading, to see if there are any new configuration items), but will leave the user's configuration alone.
danieljsummers
added this to the alpha4 milestone 2024-04-27 23:00:20 +00:00
danieljsummers
self-assigned this 2024-04-27 23:00:28 +00:00
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
As currently designed,
user-config.phpis a file that users are free to modify. However, with it in the source repository under that name, upgrades will copy the repository version over a possibly-modified version.To fix this, rename
user-config.phptouser-config.dist.php, and update the installation instructions to include renaming this file. Future upgrades will continue to overwrite thedistversion (allowing users to diff the two after upgrading, to see if there are any new configuration items), but will leave the user's configuration alone.This is complete